Pumpkin Pie Granola

HAPPY FIRST DAY OF AUTUMN!!!!!!!!!

Three cheers for fall!!! Who doesn’t love fall? Especially in New England. Cool air, stunning scenery, leafy hikes, hayrides, apple picking…I feel like we get to have a storybook autumn here.

Autumn also brings in a new food array for seasonal eatings: our long-awaited cucurbit friends. Including, oh great one, the pumpkin. Before merchandizing America took over “pumpkin” and “spice,” I would jump up and shout my undying love for all things pumpkin and spice. And I DO!!!! What I do not endorse is manufactured flavorings intended to approximate pumpkin and spice. They do not. And some things are not meant to be combined with pumpkin and spice…such as, i don’t know…latte. Political opinions aside, however, pumpkin and spice taste wonderful as a granola. Provided you use real food. We, here, at Parker Street, do solemnly swear to eat real food. Join us.

I will now not only share this delicious recipe with you, but I will also share my newly discovered skill of my homemade granola that is clumpy and crunchy. I have eaten homemade granola my entire life. And it never quite has those crunchy clumps of store-bought granola. But, friends, I figured it out, and I will now share with you these mad crunchy-clumping skillz.

Pumpkin Pie Granola

1 c your favorite nuts and seeds. (I used almonds, walnuts, and raw pepitas)
6 c rolled oats
1/2 c. coconut oil
1/2 c. maple syrup
1/2 c. pumpkin puree
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 egg white, beaten ’til fluffy
water

preheat oven to 325F

In order to get the nice clumps that I’m looking for, I first pulse all the nuts and seeds and oats in my food processor. I even pulse the oats a bit.

Add oil, sweetener (i used maple syrup, but you could also use honey; or if you must, brown sugar), and pumpkin puree. Protip: all fall long, I cook 1-2 pumpkins a week, freezing and using the puree. I can never buy canned puree again, and it’s super easy to DIY.

Add spices. I use a microplane grater to grate nutmeg and ginger. If you keep the hunk of ginger root in the freezer, it’s very easy to have on hand for grating.

Stir this all together until it well mixed.

Then, my friends, this is what I believe the secret to crunchy clumps:
I add about 1/4 c of boiling hot water. It begins to cook the oats a bit, so that what you’re doing in the oven is dehydrating cooked oatmeal. I stir it in and the texture will be like super thick cookie dough. Then I add an egg white that has been beaten until it’s white and fluffy. Mix together well.

Spread evenly on baking sheet that is either greased or lined with parchment paper. At this point, the granola will be all in one sheet. Bake for 15 mins then begin to break it, using a spatula to turn over chunks gently.Bake for another 15 mins and stir/turn over again. Then another 5-10 mins or until desired goldeness.

You MUST let it cool, because while it is warm, the chunks are still soft and chewy. After it has cooled thoroughly it will be crunchier, but it will be a day or two until the granola has reached prime crunchiness.

2 comments

  1. I love your detailed directions. I too favor clumpy granola and am always looking for a good recipe. This is great too because it includes actually pumpkin and not just the spices 🙂 I am totally making this soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

