A bit of earth

The snow has been melted for nearly two weeks now. This past week was cool, but the week before it was sunny and warm. The ground woke up! And this Saturday was bright and sunny; moving is completely behind us. Every hook has been unscrewed and every Lego located. We were able to turn our attention to our place fully and completely, beginning to lay the foundation for our little “townsteading” project. We need to get the chicken coop situated and set up, so we can retrieve our little hens from my friend who has been fostering them for me. We are setting it up behind the garage, but first we need to move what looks like years and years of yard waste compost. And to my delight, it seems usable for the gardens, full of nice big, fat wormies, who clearly have been chowing down. But it is a lot of work to get this area cleared and untangled from the well-meaning posts and wires that once seemed to contain the compost. Chris made a lot of progress on this area today. Once the coop is in place, we will still need to button it up, and build the run. Chickens are allowed in our town, but not as free-ranging. Yesterday the kids and I acquainted ourselves with the feed store, got some feed, feeder, and a waterer. There were racks of baby chickens peeping away right as we walked in the door. My kids are smitten and they cannot wait to pick up our birds.

In the meantime, I’ve been working on the garden beds. I managed to find my perennials last Weekend and dug them up to move with me, true to family tradition. I rehomed them in the front yard. But it’s still so early in the growing season that I’m not sure how it will all look and how well they will have fared the move.

IMG_6730

IMG_6737

IMG_6734

Also, I started more seedlings indoors, vegetables, to add to my growing collection of baby plants.

IMG_6646

I am proudest of this raised bed that I made almost entirely by myself. C helped a teensy bit. I found the wood behind the garage. And located it in a nice sunny spot. I had to do some digging and maneuvering because the ground slopes slightly there and I want a level bed.

This bed is for radishes, carrots, and lots of greens. So I think I will also be putting up a bunny fence soon, too, since I spotted Peter rabbit hopping around recently.
I am rather proud of myself, though, since I kept track of wh varieties I planted where. And serendipitously, while I was planting, the mail arrived w my Baker Creek order.

IMG_6754

IMG_6755

IMG_6753

Meanwhile, we are enjoying the little spring discoveries in our new yard.

Parker street progress April 2015

Untitled

Leave a comment